“Birth Of An Identity” – Reha

We all know past is past,
But forget not
It’s always meant to last.
From childhood snaps
To treasured friendship bands,
From farewell memories
To forgotten buddies,
From warm tattered diary pages
To voices unheard since ages,
We all have a past that has split us,
As much as it has built us.

Walking down one such
Foregone summer day,
I recollect how life
Never accounted my say,
When every effort
Used to go in utter vain,
And staying alive
Became an incorrigible pain.
Came by a blessing,
From a human I never knew,
Wrapped in a text that read,
“To live the life you are meant to,
Do the things you really want to.
And fear not the unpredictable unknown,
Follow your calling
And you’ll reach the right zone”.
Stunned at those effortless words
Of a stranger from nowhere,
I stood perplexed
Almost concluding it to be
A hoax pretty unfair.

But just then it clicked to me,
God helps only those
Who helps themselves,
And never does he appear
Straight out of statues and portraits.
So believing in those words
I took over a pen,
And brought a closure
To all that my heart ever contained.

What happened next
Has transformed into a beautiful past,
Like the unforgettable Eureka
That still happens to last.
And though that stranger was never found again,
His words of wisdom didn’t go in vain.
For I followed the calling of my soul,
And discovered a writer from the rut of woes.

Today after a year has passed,
Last summer is gone,
For another to arrive,
Just like the wheel of life,
That keeps spinning,
Whether or not you like.
And though I still don’t know
What I really want from life,
But all that I know is
I’ve curated a beautiful past,
That gifted me a new identity
As much as a new life to embark.

~REHA

http://www.instagram.com/calling_of_the_soul

http://www.chaosincalm.wordpress.com

One thought on ““Birth Of An Identity” – Reha

Your words to this?

